Ice Hockey

First ice hockey rules were formulated by the students of McGill University in Montreal, Canada. 1885 saw the foundation of Amateur Hockey Association in the same city. The first international match between two teams from Canada and England was organized a year later. Soon there was built the first indoor hockey stadium with an artificial ice rink.

Ice rink competitions were included for the first time in the Winter Universiade program in 1962 in Vilars, Switzerland. Four men teams took part in that competition. In 2009, during the XXIV Winter Universiade in Harbin, China the program included women competition with teams representing six countries.

Competition Format:

  • Men’s tournament (12 teams max)
  • Women’s tournament (8 teams max)

Sport Venue:

Men: Halyk Arena

Women: “Baluan Sholak” ice hockey arena