Figure skating

Figure skating emerged as a separate sport in the middle of the XIX century. In 1871, figure skating was recognized as a separate sport during the first Congress of skaters. In 1882, the first figure skating competitions were held in Austria.

Currently, figure skating is divided into five disciplines: men’s singles skating, women’s singles skating, pairs, ice dance and synchronized skating. The first disciplines are Olympic sports.

Figure skaters are judged for the elegance and expressiveness of performance, as well as precision, ease and naturalness of movements.

Competition Format:

Men: Short program, Free skating

Women: Short program, Free skating

Pairs: Short program, Free skating

Ice dance: Short program, Free skating

At the end of a competition the exhibition gala will take place with the medal winners of the event.

Sport Venue:

Almaty Arena